Tata Group
home > media room > news > media releases
US court rules in favour of Tata Group  while evicting cyber squatter  
January 24, 2003

In a significant victory for the Tata Group, the district court of Northern California has entered an 'order for permanent injunction' in the matter of Tata Sons Limited versus Chitra Pendse

Tata Sons is the promoter company of the Tata Group and the proprietor of the well-known trademark Tata and other Tata-based trademarks. Ms Pendse, an individual living in the United States, had registered numerous domain names with Tata as their prefix, or those that had names of various Tata Group companies. She was not operating, and had never operated, a legitimate website or business at any of those domain names.

Tata Sons filed a lawsuit against Ms Pendse (of Wilmington, Delaware, United States) before the United States District Court, Northern District of California, San Jose Division for cyber piracy under the US Anti-Cyber squatting Consumer Protection Act of 1999, and for trademark infringement, false designation of origin and false description, common law trademark and trade name infringement, and unfair competition and dilution, under US federal and state law.

The suit was concluded recently through a stipulation for permanent injunction and a final order thereon, providing that as of November 8, 2002, the defendant, her agents, servants, employees, and any and all persons in active concert or participation with them are permanently restrained from using in the future any trademark, trade name or domain names confusingly similar to the Tata Sons’ trademarks and trade names, and ordering her to transfer to the Tata Sons the infringing domain names.

In the stipulation for permanent injunction, the defendant made a number of acknowledgements, including that she knew Tata Sons’ names and marks at the time she obtained the domain names and that she did so only after Tata Sons’ marks had become famous.

The honourable Samuel Conti, judge of the United States District Court, entered the order for permanent injunction. The litigation commenced on October 4, 2002 ,and concluded within a period of two months. This is perhaps be the first time that a trademark owner in India has used the newly enacted anti-cyber squatting legislation in the US.

In late 1999, the U.S. Congress enacted, and President Clinton signed into law, the Anti-cyber squatting Consumer Protection Act as part of the Intellectual Property and Communications Omnibus Reform Bill. The Act amends section 43 of the Trademark Act to prohibit bad-faith registration of, trafficking in or use of a domain name that is identical or confusingly similar to a mark, or dilutive of a famous mark. 

Traditional remedies awarded under the Trademark Act are available in most cases. As an alternative to actual damages, a plaintiff can elect an award of statutory damages between $ 1,000 and $ 100,000 per domain name, the amount of which is discretionary to the judge. A court can also order transfer or forfeiture of the domain name.

Tata Sons has also been successful in a number of domain name disputes administered through the World Intellectual Property Organisation under ICANN’s UDRP Policy. The below mentioned are the most significant of these landmark decisions.

1

Manu Kosuri & Ors
(Re: various domain names)

159 of 1999

Permanent injunction granted against the defendants from using the domain names jrdtata.com, ratantata.com, tatahoneywell.com, tatayodogawa.com, tatateleservices.com, tatassl.com, tatapowerco.com, tatahydro.com, tatawestside.com, tatatimken.com or using any mark which comprises Tata or any other identical or deceptively similar mark.

Permanent injunction granted on March 9, 2001.

2

Windals Auto & Another
(tatasons.com)

2615 of 1999

Defendants agreed to transfer the domain name to Tata Sons Limited; entered into a settlement agreement. The suit has been decreed in such terms.

Final order passed on February 8, 2002.

3

Domain
(tatapower.com)

 

2001-0627

Complaint withdrawn as the registrant voluntarily transferred the domain name to the complainant, Tata Sons, in August 2001.

4

Shahid Tanvir
(tata.ws)

2001-0002

Complaint withdrawn as, subsequent to the filing of the complaint, the registrant gave up the domain name. The domain name was then registered in the name of Tata Sons Limited.

5

Hasmukh Solanki
(tataamex.com, tata-amex.com and amextata.com)

2001-0974

WIPO ordered transfer of domain names in favour of Tata Sons Limited.

Final order passed on September 25, 2001.

top of the page

Profile
Tata Sons
Tata Sons news
Media releases
Media reports
Articles