April 01, 2015

Farida Khambata and Ronen Sen appointed directors of Tata Sons

Mumbai: Farida Khambata, member, investment committee of Cartica and former member of IFC’s management group, and Ronen Sen, former ambassador of India to the United States, have been appointed as non-executive independent directors of Tata Sons.

Mrs Khambata is the global strategist of Cartica and a member of its investment committee. Prior to joining Cartica, Mrs Khambata was a member of IFC’s management group, the senior leadership team of IFC. In her last position at IFC, she served as regional vice president in charge of all operations in East Asia and the Pacific, South Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean and the global manufacturing cluster. She was responsible for strategy, investment operations and advisory services in IFC’s member countries in these regions, which account for about three-quarters of all IFC’s investments. She also oversaw all equity investments globally and investments specifically in agribusiness, manufacturing and services, and health and education.

Mr Sen was India’s ambassador to the United States from 2004 to 2009. He has also been India’s ambassador to Mexico (1991-92), to the Russian Federation (1992-98), and the Federal Republic of Germany (1998-2002), and served as High Commissioner to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2002-04). From 1986 to 1991, he was foreign and defence policy advisor to successive Prime Ministers and had several assignments as special envoy of the Prime Minister for meetings with heads of state or government. Joining the IFS in 1966, between 1968 and 1985 he served in Indian missions in the former USSR, the United States and Bangladesh; as deputy secretary, DAE & secretary to the Atomic Energy Commission, and as deputy secretary and joint secretary in the Ministry of External Affairs. He has participated in about 180 bilateral and multilateral summit meetings in six continents. Mr Sen has also served on the board of Tata Motors as a non-executive independent director from 2010 to 2012.